40 classic literature books I should have read in school

It wasn’t until I read this list of 40 classic literature books that I started to think that this could be something possible for me to do. When I went to high school many moons ago, I don’t think I read one book. For some odd reason, that was almost an accomplishment? I think it was some type of passive agressive rebellion for the nearly insane asylum atmosphere that was ‘school’. I’m not going to get into it, because who wants to read another cliche story about the shortcomings of public education. Maybe another billionaire can finally, finally fix the system, man!

Instead of tying reading with academic education, I’ve gone a different route and enjoy reading for the pleasurable life experience that it is, and that is it.

Reading is not a pursuit to get me somewhere; it’s not to help me out one day, someday, in the never present distant future. It’s not any of that. It’s simply enjoying a good book for today, because it feels so damn good to read such beautiful writing. 

With that said, I decided to take the challenge and read these books. I’ve already read a couple of them, but I figure if I write them down in a list, I’ll be more inclined to finish the list. 

Image

1. Catcher in the Rye 

 

Leave a comment